Press Release from the Commissioners Office
Baker County Board of Commissioners
1995 Third Street
Baker City, OR 97814
(541) 523-8200

Business Oregon Quarterly CDBG Grant Funding Announced

Business Oregon Announces Quarterly Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Awards

Today Business Oregon announced $10,244,083 in grants for two county and 12 city projects through the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program. These awards are from the state's 2017 fourth quarter round of funding.

The primary objective of the CDBG program is the development of livable communities by expanding economic opportunities, providing decent housing, and creating suitable living environments, principally for persons of low and moderate income.

"These awards can make a big difference for Oregon communities, particularly smaller rural areas that can use a partner for large infrastructure investments," said Chris Harder, director of Business Oregon. "The projects set the stage for long-term economic growth and community health in rural Oregon."

Business Oregon administers the state of Oregon's annual federal allocation of CDBG funds for non-metropolitan cities and counties. Urban cities and counties, and tribes are not included in the state's program as they receive CDBG funds directly from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. The next competitive application round for 2018 CDBG funding opens May 1, 2018, and goes through July 31, 2018.

The following is the list of recipients in this round of funding.

Public Works Projects:
• City of Falls City—$330,000
• City of Haines—$1,908,112
• City of Irrigon—$2,500,000

Community Facility Projects:
• City of Prineville, Senior Center—$1,500,000
• Baker County, Eagle Valley Rural Fire District Fire Station—$1,288,700

Microenterprise Assistance:
• City of La Grande—$55,000

Housing Rehabilitation Projects:
• City of Astoria—$400,000
• City of Harrisburg—$400,000
• City of Ontario—$400,000
• City of Pilot Rock—$400,000
• City of Roseburg—$400,000
• City of Stayton—$400,000
• City of The Dalles—$400,000
• Union County—$400,000